Bye Bye Photobucket

Back when Myspace was still cool, I signed up for a free image hosting site called Photobucket.     They only offered free accounts at the time, but were accepting donations & I donated 10 bucks or something.   I felt that they were offering a great service & they deserved a little money.   When Photobucket Premium accounts came into being I was automatically given a free year in appreciation of my previous good will, & naturally I felt even more good will toward this company.   It really is nice to be appreciated.   Since then I have automatically renewed my Premium account every year & I’ve been very happy with Photobucket’s service… until now.

Warning: the next part of this post contains a picture that contains violence, hate & profanity.   It was so offensive that Photobucket deleted it.   Continue at your own risk.   You have been warned!!

In addition to this blog & The Crossword blog, I also keep a World of Warcraft blog in which I document my adventures in, yeah, World of Warcraft.   For those who don’t know, there are many different character races in World of Warcraft & they are divided up into 2 sides: Dumb & Evil.   Humans, Night Elves, Dwarves, Gnomes, Draenei, & Worgen are Dumb.   The Evil side consists of Undead, Blood Elves, Tauren, Trolls, Orcs, & Goblins.   It may be hard to imagine but I play for the Evil side.

In WoW there are often skirmishes between Dumb & Evil, as is depicted in the screenshot on the right.   That particular day I had been just minding my own business, doing what one could consider WoW work & running errands, & I got picked on by a Human Mage & a Draenei Shaman.   They killed me twice.   Now, I didn’t screenshot their murderous actions because, well… I was busy.   I was getting killed.   Also, I don’t screenshot embarrassing moments unless they’re funny.   And they weren’t that entertaining while they killed me.   It was fairly no thrills kind of stuff.

Later on that day, imagine my excitement & joy when I came across the Human Mage, all by his lonesome.   He was definitely not so tough without his Draenei counterpart.   And because my Arcane Blast as a 2.35 second cast time, I had a brief moment in which I was able to press my Prt Scr key & get a screenshot.   Since I try my best to accurately report what I was doing in all my WoW screenshots, I added, in text on the screenshot, what I was thinking at the time.

Alas, my degenerate thoughts were against Photobucket’s Terms of Use.   In Section 8, Photobucket’s ToU clearly states “Prohibited Content includes, but is not limited to, Content that, in the sole discretion of Photobucket:

“is patently offensive or promotes racism, bigotry, hatred or physical harm of any kind against any group or individual” That one should be obvious.   In this screenshot I am casting Arcane Blast at a dude & it’s definitely going to affect physical harm.   I don’t have to tell you this but he’s gonna die.   Also, I’m an Undead (Evil) committing a hate crime against a Human (Dumb) & frankly the term “Fuckface” is a prime example of racial bigotry because most of the Human males in World of Warcraft have stupid looking faces.   Not so with the Undead males.   Most of them are just ugly.

“harasses or advocates harassment of another person” I am definitely harrassing this Human Mage.   That’s not a pedicure stand you see around his feet.   That’s bone chilling ice rooting him to the spot so that I can more easily kill him.   His toes are probably in great pain from the ice.   Have you ever gotten snow in your boots?   Yeah, it probably feels worse than that.

“exploits people in a sexual or violent manner” This is starting to get repetitious.

“contains nudity, excessive violence, or offensive subject matter or contains a link to an adult website” There is definitely excessive violence happening to Mylo in this picture.   In fact, you see how he has only 21k life left?   If I crit it’s going to be for around 36k.   That’s 15k more than necessary, Kyle! Totally excessive.

“constitutes or promotes information that you know is false or misleading or promotes illegal activities or conduct that is abusive, threatening, obscene, defamatory or libelous” I was attacking Mylo in an supposedly neutral area in Uldum — basically, if the guards had seen me doing this they would have chased me forever all over the zone until they caught & killed me.   I know this because recently after killing a Night Elf Hunter who was spawn camping from the roof (yeah, I can shoot lasers too, biatch) I spent over 10 minutes running all over the zone & they never gave up.   I was going to try to zone into an instance but I didn’t really know my way on foot well enough & so I never found an accessible entrance.   If I had, things might have been different.

“includes a photograph or video of another person that you have posted without that person’s consent” It’s true.   I did not get Mylo’s consent to post his picture.   Dumb & Evil are actually unable to communicate with each other verbally, which is probably a very good thing or none of us would ever get anything done.   We are able to see each others’ emotes, for instance if I typed /flirt Mylo’s chatbox would read “Tamastara flirts with you.”   However, there is no emote for “Tamastara would like to know if it is ok to post a picture of her killing you.”   There should be though.

“criminal or tortious activity” I don’t know what tortious is but it definitely sounds like something I was doing.

But probably more important than anything in Section 8 is Section 7 (yes, I’m doing it out of order), which states: “Photobucket may reject, refuse to post or delete any Content for any or no reason, including Content that in the sole judgment of Photobucket violates this Agreement or which may be offensive, illegal or violate the rights of any person or entity, or harm or threaten the safety of any person or entity. Photobucket assumes no responsibility for monitoring the Photobucket Services for inappropriate Content or conduct.” And you know what?   Photobucket is totally right.   This is like our “We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone” at the bar.   Thing is, at the bar we mean “We reserve the right to refuse servce to assholes.”   When it comes to nice people, even though they can be classified under “anyone,” we’re gonna serve them.   It’s a judgment call, & Photobucket has decided I’m an asshole in my WoW screenshot.   It’s their prerogative.   Unfortunately, it makes their service less usable for me.   I can’t have pictures arbitrarily disappearing from my blogs.   It’s just… it’s a pain in the ass.   No can.

Photobucket’s Pro accounts come with unlimited storage space & bandwidth.   The former really doesn’t affect me much; in all these years I’ve uploaded 146mb of pictures, about 30kb at a time.    Currently I’m trying out IMGboot, which offers free accounts with unlimited bandwidth.    They’ve answered my questions about what is permissible & what isn’t, & they sound very much like they wouldn’t contact the police if they saw me casting Lightning Bolt at someone or saying a bad word in a video game.   Their pro accounts are significantly more expensive than Photobucket’s but their free accounts – for my purposes – offer about the same value as Photobucket’s pro account did.

Bye Photobucket.   It’s been a great… I don’t know how many years.

3 responses to “Bye Bye Photobucket

  1. I’d probably be “evil” if I didn’t have a friend taking me around when I first started… also back then we couldn’t go “evil/dumb” on same server… I guess I’m forever surrounded by the “dumb” hahaha :)

Leave a Reply

