Fathers Day Performance Evaluation

Hey there fathers.   It’s your day pretty soon.

Not all of us grew up with a Rockwellian childhood.  I do know some who did, but they are in the minority.   Some of us grew up without one of our parents, & some of us won’t really have anyone to celebrate tomorrow.

Some of us grew up with less than ideal father figures.   Fathers who caused our neck muscles to tighten when we heard them come home from work every day.   Fathers who believed the worst of us, who perceived our accidents or shortcomings as conspiracies against them.   Fathers who beat us harder than care required because they were angrier than they were caring.   Fathers who weren’t there, or fathers who were actually better when they weren’t there.

But still, every Fathers Day, we should be thankful we have fathers.   After all, without them we wouldn’t be here.   If you have an awesome father, congratulations.   If you think you might not have an awesome father, I have compiled a checklist of what I think we would hope we can expect from our beloved dads. In the back of my mind maybe I am thinking of Atticus Finch.

Fathers Day Performance Evaluation

1. My dad loves me unconditionally. Even if I disappoint him, disagree with him, or otherwise fail him, he still loves me even though he may be disappointed or upset.
2. My dad respects my mom.
3. My dad lets me make my own mistakes but is still there when I run home screaming for help.
4. My dad wants me to be happy.
5. My dad respects my thoughts & feelings even if they are different from his own.
6. My dad always has faith in me.
7. My dad is an example of good judgment, kindness, & fairness.
8. My dad says he doesn’t know if he doesn’t know.
9. My dad likes me.
10. My dad always has my back.

If you were able to answer “yes” to at least half of the above questions, cut your dad some slack. Fatherhood isn’t the easiest job, & some kids don’t even have fathers. Of course, if you weren’t, then just buy yourself a beer. And I’ll take a Miller Lite.

Leave a Reply

