Do not buy ahi poke from Safeway

This place is great for dairy products & their bakery, but their meat & fish department is the worst of anywhere I've ever shopped in my entire life.

This place is great for dairy products & bakery, but their meat & fish department is the worst of anywhere I’ve ever shopped in my entire life.

Here is the note I just submitted at Safeway’s website.

I’ve been shopping at the Hawaii Kai location since it was ever there. I love your store. However, one thing that I have experienced with 100% consistency is that your ahi poke is terrible. It’s not just bad. It’s inedible, maybe even poisonous.

It’s been 5 years since I returned my last pound of poke & today I decided to give it a try again, & it was a mistake.   The fish is flat & metallic tasting, & so mushy that I picture someone playing mailbox baseball with it prior to chopping it up with a blunt hatchet.   I purchased both “fresh” (I don’t think so, btw) & “fresh frozen” & both are terrible.  Both are also so overseasoned (presumably to disguise poor fish quality?) that the slime alone (& there is a LOT of it) is probably tomorrow’s gastritis.  I’m not going to ask for a refund because this was a result of my own stupidity. However, because I like your store, I’d like you to know… that fish is bad.   It’s really bad.

Leave a Reply

