Cafe Miro, The Return

Cafe MiroActually, I’ve been back to Miro a few times since the last post, but I tried different things this time.   Unfortunately, I didn’t notice my camera was on the wrong setting so the pictures may not be very good.   Sorry, Logan.   Also, the pictures came out really small.   I didn’t notice that setting either.   Oh well.

A couple of my girlfriends & I, reunited at the infamous Spicy Tuna gig at Gordon Biersh this past June 28, decided to have dinner someplace quiet, with good wine by the glass, for the purpose of catching up without going to jail.   Neither of them had been to Cafe Miro before, so it seemed like the perfect place to get together.

Cafe Miro is located on Waialae Avenue near 9th, next to Hawaii National Bank.   Parking is in the bank parking lot in back, off of 9th Avenue.   The bank closes at 4pm so at night I believe that all becomes restaurant parking.   Don’t quote me though.

Cafe Miro offers either a 3 course meal or a 4 course meal, as explained in my previous post, & their menu is available at their website here.   The menu seems relatively static, although periodic special items do appear from time to time.   I have never had a single thing here that wasn’t wonderful.   My girlfriend Kamu was overwhelmed by the course choices, & I reassured her it didn’t matter what she ordered; anything she chose would be very good.   Even the soup du jour here was always, without fail, the best soup I’ve ever had, over & over again.

We ordered wine, & the manager Jimmy brought us a dish of their housemade pate, which is pure awesomeness.   We each decided on 3 courses, & for the first course, Lisa had the abalone & scallop, Kamu the chef’s appetizer sampler, & I the warm seafood medley salad, which was delish.

IMG_0206

Jimmy also treated Kamu to the chef’s special vegetable terrine, which we all tried & really, really liked.   In fact, that terrine might be my favorite part of tonight.

07-12 Appetizer sampler, vegetable terrine

After my raving about soup, Kamu ordered the du jour, which was cream of mushroom.   I didn’t take a picture, but it was ridiculously good.   It also arrived very hot, which is something in a restaurant this busy.   When you think “cream of mushroom,” you think of the Campbell’s canned stuff, which is good, but… this was mushroom & herbs first, cream second.   Seriously.   Best cream of mushroom soup, ever.

I ordered the scallops as my entree, Lisa went for the comfit, & Kamu got the portwine reduction braised shortribs.   The scallops were Lisa’s 2nd choice & the shortribs were my 2nd choice, & we all ended up sharing everything.

IMG_0208

Dessert was a choice of cheese or desserts, so we did 2 cheese, 1 dessert.   They still had that wonderful cambozola, which was everyone’s favorite.   Jimmy also brought us an absolutely amazing Bosc pear stuffed with chestnut cream.   I’m not one for sweets, & this was definitely sweet, but the cream had such a gorgeous, smoky flavor over the sugary, grainy pear that I actually ate most of mine.

IMG_0214

It was a wonderful dinner with truly excellent & kindhearted service.   Even the room was great; every table flanking us contained quietly speaking, gently laughing diners who were also having a pleasant, quality night.   I have fully enjoyed every visit to Cafe Miro.   The girls said they definitely want to come back.

2 responses to “Cafe Miro, The Return

Leave a Reply

